* *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 22, 2017, 08:18:21 PM

Login with username, password and session length

[SOLVED] Blast vs knockdowncount bug

  • 23 Replies
  • 854 Views
*

Offline Plombo

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • 402
Re: Blast vs knockdowncount bug
« Reply #15 on: August 15, 2017, 01:33:41 PM »
Glad you found out the issue! Though I'm still a bit bothered by how you had to keep using #include for that one file.

The problem with fixing really old engine bugs like this, though, is that the fix will often break something else. It's probably better to just deprecate the "blast" command and tell people not to use it going forward.
I now have a Twitter that you can follow if you like.

If my reply to you seems needlessly terse, I probably typed it from my phone. I'm not trying to be rude.

*

Offline O Ilusionista

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • 4809
  • >> I WILL BE AWAY FOR SOME TIME <<
    • BMT - Brazil Mugen Team
Re: Blast vs knockdowncount bug
« Reply #16 on: August 15, 2017, 03:34:34 PM »
Quote
Though I'm still a bit bothered by how you had to keep using #include for that one file.
Me too, it doesn't makes much sense.

Quote
It's probably better to just deprecate the "blast" command and tell people not to use it going forward.
I agree. I will update the manuals. attack + "dropv 3 3" should do the trick.


*

Offline O Ilusionista

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • 4809
  • >> I WILL BE AWAY FOR SOME TIME <<
    • BMT - Brazil Mugen Team
Re: [SOLVED] Blast vs knockdowncount bug
« Reply #17 on: August 19, 2017, 07:04:14 PM »
Some more news:
It seems that "blast" has one more strange behavior: When we add "blast" to an attack, the collision box (on the Z axis) is somehow shortened. In other words, it reduces the area of effect of the collision box.  With this, the attacks only hit if the enemies are closer than they should be.

I noticed that some attacks from the game, for example Iron Man's unibeam (with a Z value of 50) and Emma Frost's Psyblast fails a lot on the last relase - even if the Z value is big like 50 and the enemies are close to the player. Once I had changed BLAST to ATTACK, the move will work perfectly.

I will update the manuals today with the deprecate warning.

*

Offline Damon Caskey

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • 1734
    • DC Current
Re: [SOLVED] Blast vs knockdowncount bug
« Reply #18 on: August 19, 2017, 07:32:23 PM »
Blast has been depreciated for years, mostly because you can do all the same things with dropv and damageonlanding, except with finer control. I thought the manual even said as much. If it doesn't, then yes - please update.

DC
Projects in progress are now available here: https://github.com/DCurrent

*

Offline Bloodbane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • 3104
  • Dark Dragon
Re: [SOLVED] Blast vs knockdowncount bug
« Reply #19 on: August 19, 2017, 11:58:23 PM »
 BTW Ilu, blast has one less parameter than attack{#}

Quote
attack{#}   {x}   {y}   {right}   {down}   {damage}   {power}   {block}   {noflash}   {pausetime}   {z}
blast      {x}   {y}   {right}   {down}   {damage}   {block}   {noflash}   {pausetime}   {z}

 Blast doesn't have power or knockdown parameter cause blast is always a knockdown attack. I believe that's why setting z parameter doesn't work the way it should

*

Offline O Ilusionista

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • 4809
  • >> I WILL BE AWAY FOR SOME TIME <<
    • BMT - Brazil Mugen Team
Re: [SOLVED] Blast vs knockdowncount bug
« Reply #20 on: August 20, 2017, 12:01:11 AM »
ahh, I wasn't aware of this (but I always changed the type using OpenBORstats, so dunno if it reduce the values). So it would use PAUSE as Z depth and since the pause is almost always small, the z depth turned into a small value too.

Thanks for the tip

*

Offline O Ilusionista

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • 4809
  • >> I WILL BE AWAY FOR SOME TIME <<
    • BMT - Brazil Mugen Team
Re: [SOLVED] Blast vs knockdowncount bug
« Reply #21 on: September 12, 2017, 11:07:58 AM »
For more info about this issue, Blast + projectilehit can brake even the normal GRAB (non-scripted) behaviour.

See this video after 1:52 - you will notice, at left, that one of the enemies hits the other (using projectilehit). Then when SW grabs the same enemy and tries to use her GRAFORWARD (which uses BLAST), she simply pass through him, lands behind him and gets stuck on a grab animation...grabing the thin air.

*

Offline Damon Caskey

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • 1734
    • DC Current
Re: [SOLVED] Blast vs knockdowncount bug
« Reply #22 on: September 12, 2017, 11:24:09 AM »
...

Add that to the laundry list of reasons you should avoid Blast and use the newer commands. It's an archaic command only in place for backward comparability, and thus couldn't be updated even if we wanted to.

DC
Projects in progress are now available here: https://github.com/DCurrent

*

Offline O Ilusionista

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • 4809
  • >> I WILL BE AWAY FOR SOME TIME <<
    • BMT - Brazil Mugen Team
Re: [SOLVED] Blast vs knockdowncount bug
« Reply #23 on: September 12, 2017, 11:25:05 AM »
Yeah I know. I am just giving more information about it.

 

Recent

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 46047
  • Total Topics: 3159
  • Online Today: 83
  • Online Ever: 316
  • (January 04, 2013, 09:43:02 AM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 26
Total: 26